North Dakota – Parker & Cole

FAQs for North Dakota Probate

Probate laws vary state to state so it is important that you understand the laws in your state.  There are key differences that make dealing with probate in North Dakota unique.

1. Can Probate be avoided in North Dakota?

In North Dakota, you can avoid Probate if you set up a trust for all of your assets. If there is no trust or other plans, the estate will enter the probate process in North Dakota which can be a long process.

2. How long does Probate Take in North Dakota?

The probate process in North Dakota can be frustratingly long. It can take anywhere from 9 months to over 2 years, depending upon the complexity of the estate, the number of heirs, and the speed of the local court administering the case. If the Will is being contested, probate can drag on for even longer – sometimes taking several years. And that was pre-pandemic so now we are seeing more delays. Parker & Cole can get you funded long before the probate process is completed.

3. How can I speed up the probate process in North Dakota?

Unfortunately, there is no real way to speed up the probate process, as it is required to go through the Courts which are currently backlogged. However, Parker & Cole can be the ideal solution to access a portion of your inheritance while you wait for the estate to close and disburse. The experienced professionals at Parker & Cole can guide you through the process making it easy to get the money you need as quickly as the same day.

4. Can I get a Probate Advance in North Dakota?

Yes. Parker & Cole works in all fifty states and in all of North Dakota’s counties, including, but not limited to the following:

  • Adams County, ND
  • Barnes County, ND
  • Benson County, ND
  • Billings County, ND
  • Bottineau County, ND
  • Bowman County, ND
  • Burke County, ND
  • Burleigh County, ND
  • Cass County, ND
  • Cavalier County, ND
  • Dickey County, ND
  • Divide County, ND
  • Dunn County, ND
  • Eddy County, ND
  • Emmons County, ND
  • Foster County, ND
  • Golden Valley County, ND
  • Grand Forks County, ND
  • Grant County, ND
  • Griggs County, ND
  • Hettinger County, ND
  • Kidder County, ND
  • LaMoure County, ND
  • Logan County, ND
  • McHenry County, ND
  • McIntosh County, ND
  • McKenzie County, ND
  • McLean County, ND
  • Mercer County, ND
  • Morton County, ND
  • Mountrail County, ND
  • Nelson County, ND
  • Oliver County, ND
  • Pembina County, ND
  • Pierce County, ND
  • Ramsey County, ND
  • Ransom County, ND
  • Renville County, ND
  • Richland County, ND
  • Rolette County, ND
  • Sargent County, ND
  • Sheridan County, ND
  • Sioux County, ND
  • Slope County, ND
  • Stark County, ND
  • Steele County, ND
  • Stutsman County, ND
  • Towner County, ND
  • Traill County, ND
  • Walsh County, ND
  • Ward County, ND
  • Wells County, ND
  • Williams County, ND

5. Does North Dakota have an estate tax?

No, North Dakota does not have an estate tax. The following states do have an estate tax:

    • Connecticut
    • Illinois
    • Maine
    • Maryland
    • Minnesota
    • New York
    • Oregon
    • Rhode Island
    • Vermont
    • Washington (state)

6. Does North Dakota have an inheritance tax?

No, North Dakota does not have an inheritance tax. The following states do have an inheritance tax.

    • Iowa
    • Kentucky
    • Maryland
    • Nebraska
    • New Jersey
    • Pennsylvania